Getting behind the wheel without car insurance is one of the riskiest things you can do. If you are involved in an accident or commit a traffic violation, you may be liable for damages, plus you may have to pay the court fees associated with your citation.
But what happens when you have to drive without car insurance? You can be fined up to $1,000 in addition to the basic fine.
Texas residents with a suspended license may be required to carry an SR22 form. If you’ve been wondering, “What is SR22 Insurance texas?” this guide will answer all your questions.
1. What is SR22 Insurance?
The SR22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that is usually required of drivers who have been caught driving without insurance or have been convicted of a DUI. The SR22 is registered with your insurance company and sent to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. The purpose of the SR22 is to ensure that you maintain your insurance coverage and can prove it to the state.
you are caught driving without insurance in Texas, you will need to obtain an SR22. If you are required to have an SR22, you will need to maintain your insurance cover for a set period of time, usually two to three years. your coverage lapses, your insurance company will notify the state, which can result in your driver’s license being suspended.
2. Why is this required in Texas?
SR-22 insurance is a special type of insurance that is often required by the state for high-risk drivers. SR-22 insurance is not a specific insurance company, but rather an insurance application.
The SR-22 application is a certificate issued by your auto insurance company that proves you have the minimum amount of vehicle insurance required by your state. If you are required to have an SR-22, you will be notified by the court or your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
3. How do I get SR22 insurance?
SR22 insurance must be current for at least three years. Your right to drive will be revoked if you drive without insurance or if your policy expires. Your driver’s license will be reissued with an “SR” classification and the Texas Department of Public Safety will be notified.
Form SR22 must be sent to DPS by your insurance provider. The form must be saved before your license can be reactivated. Your license cannot be renewed until SR22 insurance is active in Texas.
4. How much does it cost?
In Texas, affordable SR22 insurance typically costs $30 to $90 per month. However, the exact amount you pay depends on a number of factors, including your driving record, the insurance company you use and the level of cover you purchase. For more information on the best SR22 insurance rate in Texas, be sure to shop around and compare quotes from multiple insurers.
Apply now for your SR22 Texas insurance
You should know about SR22 insurance in Texas if you are required to file an SR-22 to get your license reinstated after a DUI conviction. If you are required to file an SR-22, you will need to purchase a policy from an insurance company that offers SR-22 coverage.
It is important to shop around for the best prices as there can be a big difference between companies. Don’t forget to check with your insurance company if they offer SR22 insurance.
If you found this article helpful and want to learn more about car insurance or other useful topics, follow our blog to stay updated.
READ RELATED :